top of page

Interview with M. H. Elrich

Helllooo, everyone! Today I have another very special interview with the wonderful MH Elrich!


I had so much fun interviewing this wonderful Christian Writer, and I hope you all enjoy her answers as much as I did!! (And feel free to show her some love by purchasing her book on Amaon!)


That all said, here's the interview!

 

D: When did you start writing?

I started writing stories when I was in second grade. My second grade teacher wanted to encourage us to write so she had us create our own picture books. From that time on, I was hooked on writing stories. My mom also says I loved holding a pen and writing words when I was three years old, even though I didn’t understand them. She said I used to copy down the words from magazines for fun. D: Have you always wanted to be a writer? Yes! When I was in fourth grade, my church went through 40 Days of Purpose. My Sunday School did a kid version. One day, the children’s leader asked us if we had a talent we could use for God’s glory. I thought of writing. From that point on, I knew I wanted to be a writer. D: What advice would you give a new writer, someone just starting out? Finish your manuscript! It is so hard to complete a book. I probably went through thirty drafts of variations of Etania’s Worth before it was done. I just had different ideas or didn’t like where it was going. Finally, C.E. Stone, my fellow friend and author, told me to just finish my book. It was the best advice I’ve ever had, and since then I’ve finished two books and one novella. D: How do you handle writer’s block? I pray and wait. A verse was revealed to me through the Holy Spirit about this: “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” (Psalm 27:14). I think sometimes God wants us to listen to Him and His voice, so He gives us writer’s block to draw us closer to Him. Usually, if I do that, I can write. D: What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing? Relatable characters and a well-paced plot. If your characters are well-developed and change over the course of the story, most readers will be able to relate to them. Then, if your plot is well-paced, you’ll be able to keep them turning the pages until the end. D: What comes first, the plot or characters? For me, the plot usually comes first. I can usually see several plot points playing out in my head. I also have characters, but they aren’t developed until I sit down and write about them. D: How do you develop your plot and characters? Honestly, by writing the book. I’m a discovery writer, which means I discover my characters and a bit of my plot as I write. The first time I finished a book, I used K.M. Weiland’s books to help me. I think she gave me a structure and Etania’s Worth was my most outlined novel. But for Etania’s Calling, the sequel, I strayed from the script so to speak. That is where I discovered that I’m not an outliner and can’t really stick to an outline. I like to brainstorm ideas in my journal, but in the end, typing up my story is how I discover my characters and plot. The rest has to be reformed in the editing process. D: How do you come up with the titles to your books? I based the titles on the themes of the books. Etania’s Worth is about how Etania is learning to embrace her identity and worth in Christ. Etania’s Calling is supposed to be about how Etania is learning to embrace her calling in Christ. However, I noticed after writing Etania’s Calling that it veered off-script a bit and has become a bit different than the original theme. My readers will have to tell me if they feel like the title fits still after reading it 🤪 D: When did you first consider yourself a writer? I know that this is a big thing for some writers, where they want to feel they’ve “made it.” For me, I always thought of myself as a writer, but not always as an author. Author, to me, meant being published. Now, with two books under my belt, I think of myself as both writer and author. D: Describe your writing space. I don’t have a set writing space. Sometimes, I will write at my chair with my writing table over my knees. At other times, I will write at my desk, looking outside at the trees waving in the breeze. But honestly, I could write anywhere. There was a book I read after recommendation from a friend called Kitchen Privileges. It is by Mary Higgins Clark and she writes about how she wrote for thirty minutes a day in the morning on her kitchen table. I took her advice to heart and work wherever I can. D: What time of the day do you usually write? I write about thirty minutes a day in the morning before work. Sometimes, I will be able to edit or write at night. But, I’m more of a morning bird than a night owl. D: Where do you feel like God is leading your writing career? To be honest, I’m not sure. My husband and I are thinking about having children, and I know children will change how my writing goes. However, I imagine I will keep writing in the margins of life, trying my best to keep publishing books. My goal is to publish one book a year. D: What is the most difficult part about writing for you? Finding the time. With a full-time job, it is difficult to find time to write, edit, market, and publish my books. Writing is a second job, and it can only happen if I keep up the habit. D: What is your work schedule like when you are writing? I have a day job, so I write in the morning before work and sometimes in the evening after work. I also will work on a Saturday or Sunday if I have an afternoon free. D: What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? I like to have one line, dramatic endings, for my scenes. For example, I have this line at the end of one of my scenes in Etania’s Worth, and it’s one of my favorites: “Jakin and Etania would need the time alone to digest what had happened and wash away the blood. Blood that would never disappear from Keyel’s heart.” Sounds ominous, doesn’t it? Well, Keyel doesn’t actually kill anyone, but he certainly feels the guilt for a certain person’s death. I wanted to get the heaviness of his guilt in one line, and this is what I came up with. I love it! D: Thank you so much for doing this interview with me!!! I really appreciate it!! You’re welcome! Thank you for doing it!

 







M.H. Elrich is a Christian fantasy author, reader, and teacher who wears too many hats. In her spare time (if she has any), she watches T.V. with her husband, watches anime, rides horses, and travels to places with lots of trees. She has been published in The Write Word, Orpheus, Kern County Fair, and Short Fiction Break.







17 views

Recent Posts

See All

INTERVIEW with GRACE A. JOHNSON

Good day, Everyone! Grace Johnson is an amazing Christian teen writer, who happens to be a friend of mine! She interviewed me a couple months ago, so I figured I'd return the favor XD I'm so very glad

pexels-photo-1008000_edited.jpg

Greetings From The Planet Writing Daisies!

I am a Christian Teen writer who enjoys reading, art, bad puns, and music--especially Ukulele!

I started writing when I was nine years old. I told stories to my siblings daily, so it only made sense to take the next step up, and I love it! I hope you enjoy some of the things I've decided to share from my own experiences!

Jesus loves you <3

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page